BEA Steering Committee

Carlos Marentes

Grassroots Representative
Border Agricultural Workers Project

Carlos Marentes has been a labor organizer and farm worker advocate since 1977. In 1983, he founded Sin Fronteras Organizing Project to support efforts to improve the working and living conditions of the migrant and seasonal farm workers of Southern New Mexico and Far West Texas. Marentes is also the founder and director of the Border Agricultural Workers Project, an effort to organize the farm workers of the US-Mexico border. He participates in many local, state and national organizations that deal with issues of poverty and economic inequality, and coordinates the International Committee on Migration and Rural Workers of La Vía Campesina and has attended many conferences and workshops in U.S. as well as in Mexico, Europe, India, South Africa and Southeast Asia, to advocate for migrant workers rights. 

Michele Roberts

Grassroots Representative
Environmental Justice Health Alliance for Chemical Policy Reform

Michele provides strategic leadership, technical and capacity support to fenceline communities through EJHA. The affiliates of EJHA span across the US and live fenceline to some of our nation's most egregious industrial operation, and many of the affiliates are considered as legacy communities. In addition to Michele’s serving on the BEA Emissions Reduction Workgroup, EJHA and some EJHS grassroot affiliates have benefited from BEA funding.

Dwaign Tyndal 

Grassroots Representative
Alternatives for Community and Environment (ACE)

Dwaign has over twenty-five years of professional experience in economic development, community and neighborhood development, youth development and workforce development. Throughout his professional experience, Dwaign has effectively led capable and diverse teams and has also been able to communicate complex public policies to various stakeholders to show how community-based partnerships can build stronger communities and empower residents and businesses to take active roles in their neighborhoods. ACE has attended BEA functions and has received funding from BEA.

Loren White Jr. 

Grassroots Representative
Indigenous Environmental Network

Loren has been working on environmental and economic justice for nearly 20 years and recently joined the IEN as the Community Development Coordinator. Since early in 2018 he has been working with Indigenous frontline communities to help design and develop, along with managing and maintaining the collaborative Regenerative Community Loan Fund. He is also assisting in bringing to fruition their projects that reflect their visions of sustainability and equity, based on the Principles of  Just Transition.  IEN has attended BEA functions and has been involved in many BEA discussions. 

Eva Hernandez

Green Caucus 
Sierra Club

Based in Austin, Texas, Eva has worked for the Sierra Club since 2009 in various roles, spending seven years with organizing, supporting and managing staff and volunteers across various regions of the country. Over the years, Eva has led and supported many successful community, state, and national campaigns by bringing to bear all the strategic elements of the Sierra Club, including a commitment to building strong partnerships. Eva's first engagement with the BEA was in 2016 when she worked with the Sierra Club team internally and CEJA to develop a partnership using the BEA principles and framework as a guide. Eva has been an internal advocate at Sierra Club in advancing the Jemez Principles, working to develop guidance and to put the Jemez Principles into practice. 

Andrew Rosenberg

Green Caucus
Center for Science and Democracy, Union of Concerned Scientists

Andrew is director of the Center for Science and Democracy at the Union of Concerned Scientists. He has more than 25 years of experience in government service and academic and non-profit leadership. He is the author of scores of peer-reviewed studies and reports on fisheries and ocean management and has published on the intersection between science and policy making. Andrew has served on the BEA Weaver team (former governance body) for the past year. In addition, he co-chaired the Research Work Group and lead a research project with grassroots partners for a landscape analysis of grassroots organizations and funders in two regions. 

Ramya Sivasubramanian

Green Caucus
Natural Resource Defense Council (NRDC)

Ramya works with communities of color and low-income communities to advocate and litigate for environmental justice. She has expertise using environmental and civil rights laws to ensure that these communities are not disproportionately burdened by environmental harms, such as freight-related air pollution or hazardous waste. Ramya, through colleagues at the NRDC, has followed the BEA's work and mission of building alignment between big greens, grassroots, and philanthropy and addressing the current and historical inequities in the environmental movement.

Trevor Thompson

Funder Representative
NorthLight Foundation

Trevor joined NorthLight in 2019, where he has focused on developing strategies and portfolios around climate justice in New York, climate and labor justice, climate and health, and mission-aligned investing that considers racial and environmental injustices. Trevor has previous experience in nonprofit management consulting and as a strategic foresight professional conducting long-term (e.g., 20-year) scenario development and forecasting, particularly focused on climate change, health, and emerging technologies. Trevor joined the BEA Steering Committee with the goal of bringing other funders along for the journey of adopting an under-resourced yet proven solution to environmental challenges: support for grassroots environmental justice work.

In loving memory of Cecil Corbin-Mark (1969-2020), champion of environmental justice and inaugural BEA Steering Committee member.